Harriet Walker appointed Vice-Chair, Two Trustees Re-appointed to the Gallery’s Board of Trustees

Ottawa - May 22, 2013

Mr. Michael Tims, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the National Gallery of Canada, is pleased to announce the appointment of Mrs. Harriet Walker as Vice-Chair of the Board, along with the re-appointment of Ms. Liza Maheu and Mr. Howard Kroon as Trustees. These appointments were recently approved by the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages.  For more information on these appointees, please consult their biographies on National Gallery of Canada’s website at: http://www.gallery.ca/en/about/board-of-trustees.php

About the National Gallery of Canada 
The National Gallery of Canada is home to the most important collections of historical and contemporary Canadian art. The Gallery also maintains Canada's premier collection of European Art from the 14th to the 21st century, as well as important works of American, Asian and Indigenous Art and renowned international collections of prints, drawings and photographs. Created in 1880, the National Gallery of Canada has played a key role in Canadian culture for well over a century. Among its principal missions is to increase access to excellent works of art for all Canadians. To do so, it maintains an extensive touring art exhibition programme. For more information: gallery.ca

— 30 —

For media only:

For more information, please contact:

Josée-Britanie Mallet
Senior Media and Public Relations Officer
National Gallery of Canada